Welcome Back

I’ve spent the past month or so thinking about this space and what I want to do with it. Once I reached the 5 month mark of not returning, I assumed I would eventually wander in here and delete the whole deal. This journal is from a different part of my life. A part that sadly no longer exists and I didn’t know how to come back. Lucky for you folks, I’m incredibly lazy and never bothered to follow through.

 When I left in February, my life was in total upheaval and it still is to some degree. Things have finally come to a place where life should be settling down into a rhythm once again. And although it is a completely new-to-me rhythm, and not one I ever expected to be learning, I find myself looking forward to it. So when I got this tweet from Jan, it got me thinking again about the sweet old bloggy. I realized I’m not quite ready to give it up yet. So here we are again (after all these years. I never could resist a Paul Simon reference).

A lot has changed in the past few months. It’s just Izzy and me now, doing our own thing.

I’ve taken up a new hobby that really, really takes up all my time and energy. Especially my energy. And I can tell you one thing for sure, I never expected myself to be involved in this but I am so happy I am.

The friends I’ve made over the past few months make all the bruises, the soreness, the sweat, the tears, and the lingering knee injury worth it (note: that is not exactly my injury but the closest information I could find. My kneecap is not actually broken but does have some small fissures/cracks in it).

Of course, I still knit and stitch and fuss around making stuff. But it really has taken a bit of a back burner to the rest of my life.

Given all that’s changed, I’m not sure what direction this blog is going to go in. I still want to focus mainly on the crafting but that doesn’t happen nearly as much as it used to. Posting may happen once a week or maybe once every other week. Heck, maybe I’ll go crazy and be spurred by the blog to take up my breakneck speed again.

I know one thing for sure. I’m definitely not deleting the blog. The idea of finding a place to move all the tutorials that are still being used (judging from the page view stats) is pretty horrifying. I’d rather stay here and talk to you folks rather than do all that extra work. For now, we’re together again and that’s what matters.

(Didn’t you miss my abuse of parenthetical asides?!)

4 responses to “Welcome Back

  1. You know about http://blog.joanofdark.com/, right? Fiber and derby go together like… well not peanut butter and jelly, but maybe peanut butter and bananas, or celery or something.

  2. Abuse the parenthesis all you want! I’m just thrilled to see you blogging again. <3<3<3

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who abuses the Parenthetical Asides (even though they are fun to use).

  4. welcome back to blogging! I like the idea of your new hobby, I could never do it but it looks fun!