Books in 2010

Like my crafting resolution post yesterday, I have one today for reading. At the end of 2009, I summed up my year in reading and talked a little about what I read that year. Today I plan to do pretty much that same thing again.

I only had 1 reading resolution last year (and the same one for next year). To read more books than I did the previous year. And I did. In 2009, I read 45 books. In 2010, I read 47. Not very many more than 2009 but I did it.

I had a hard time at the beginning of the year coming up with titles to try. Until I found Flashlight Worthy Books. I scoured every one of their lists for books to read and they contributed greatly to my list of read books for the year.

Best book I read in 2010?
I read a lot of great books this year and it’s hard for me to pick from them. Push by Sapphire was probably my favorite. I cried through the entire book. Mrs. Bridge by Evan Connell was also a great read. It relies heavily on subtlety. If you’re not paying attention to what the satire is about, it’s easy to get caught up in the day to day humdrums of this woman’s life. Well written satire at its best. Other great books of the year, The Secret History by Donna Tartt, The Collector by John Fowles, and Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris.

Worst book in 2010?
There wasn’t really a book this year that made me curl my nose and question why I read it. Or one that made me wish I had the hours I’d wasted on it back. The Boy With the Cuckoo Clock Heart wasn’t amazing. It tried hard to be a good fairy tale but it felt like it fell short in the end. Build up, build up, let down. Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time was one that I didn’t particularly enjoy but could see its worth. It just wasn’t a book for me. I was on a big serial killer kick this year and read everything I could get my hands on. However, they weren’t all enjoyable. Postmortem by Patricia Cornwell? Eh. It was ok but nothing special. The Killer Inside Me by Jim Thompson was probably the only book of the year I had to force myself to finish. And Perfume: The Story of a Murderer was not as exciting as the plot synopsis lead me to believe. 

Overall it was a good year for books. And considering my “to read” list of titles is well into the 100s, I have a good start for 2011.

Wondering where I get all these books I read? It’s a combination of my public library, discount book stores (books-a-million, Half Price books, etc), and Paperback Swap.

2 responses to “Books in 2010

  1. Pingback: Looking Forward |

  2. Have you heard of The Forgotten Garden? I think that was the only book I really read for pleasure. This year and I loved it. I am trying to get myself to read more “real” books. I bought myself the History of Cancer for Christmas and for a historical medical book it is surprisingly good…