Daily Archives: December 9, 2010

Baby Knits in Pink

Lately it seems as if there has been a huge flux of ladies my age having their first (sometimes second) babies. Every where I turn someone in my circle of friends and acquaintances is making a big announcement. While I am extremely happy for all of them it just seems to be a rather shocking amount. A few months ago, I could name 10 women I knew who were pregnant or who had just given birth in the previous weeks.

Usually I do not knit for babies unless the family is very close to me or there has been a request for a handknit.  For me, a tiny handknit sweater (or anything made by hand) is an heirloom. It’s not something that cost a couple dollars and can be thrifted away when it no longer fits. As such, I am careful about who I will take the time to knit for. When I received a couple, glowing emails about 9 months ago inquiring about some special handknits for their newly formed fetuses (feti?), I agreed. It pays to compliment is all I’m saying.

Baby #1, not yet born as of this posting, is going to be a sweet, charming girl in pink. So I made a few things for her from 1 hank of Knit Picks Tonal in Summer Blooms.

First, I made a pair of newborn size booties from this pattern (the pdf link is in the sidebar). 

Next I made the cutest baby hat using this pattern (Rav link). The yarn called for here only goes down to a DK and since I had fingering weight, I decided to knit the 3-6 mo size using size 3 needles for the ribbing and a size 4 needle for the head portion.

And since the baby is going to be living somewhere where it gets a little cold during the winter, she gets a sweet sweater made from this pattern (Rav link) (my hand included for scale on this wee itty bitty sweater). Again, this pattern called for larger gauge yarn than I had so I knit the 3-6 mo size with fingering weight yarn to produce a newborn size sweater.

Mama and family has received the baby knits and now they’re just waiting for a baby to put them in. Come out soon sweety; we want to meet you.