Daily Archives: December 8, 2009

End of the Year Sale!

From now until the New Year begins, nearly everything in my ETSY shop is on sale. All earrings, knitting stitch markers, and the 1 lonely set of hair pins have been marked down. Some by a  small percentage and others by more. There will be a Christmas ornament sale after January 1. 

I want to clear my shop of all the jewelry and jewelry related items. I started out on ETSY selling these because I wanted to make some extra cash. As sad as it sounds, that was the sole reason.  Justin and I needed a little extra income and this seemed like an easy, quick way to go about that.  Ok, we didn’t need the extra income but it would be better for me to buy my supplies from money that wasn’t needed for bills. Ok…I wanted yarn money. 

At any rate, it worked. I made enough to support my other habits. But it was never what I wanted to do in the long term. I have been searching a long time looking for the right outlet and now I feel like I’m getting closer to knowing what that is.

I have been enormously inspired by the work being done with felt, embroidery, knitting, and crochet all coming together to create artistic expressions.  I’ve got lots of ideas for projects that are more about creating something beautiful and less about following somebody else’s ideas (patterns, tutorials, etc). And after the holidays are over, because I am quite booked up on projects until then, that is the direction I am going to go.

I owe a huge thank you to Justin. It was his original idea that our Christmas ornament this year be a mustache that led me down this path of thought. Coupled with my own restless fingers, and the huge amount of inspiration out there in the craft world, I feel like I’m on my way towards something good.

Of course, this goes without saying, that I won’t be giving up on things I already love (you should see the size of my Ravelry queue…it’s outrageous and has its own zipcode). But my own creations are going to be the priority in 2010. And if I feel they’re good enough, they’ll be available for purchase.

In case you’re wondering, the mustaches will still be available after the holidays as well. Reincarnated but still available.  In fact, the store is going to be specializing in mustaches and mustache varieties for a bit.

Oh..and don’t forget. Stuff is on sale.